Wright Group Alumni

Years Name Position Capstone
2018-2023 Chris Roy PhD  
2017-2023 Emily Kaufman PhD Progress towards the use of TSF and DOVE spectroscopy to probe coupling relationships in complex molecules
2016-2022 Kyle Sunden PhD yaq: Yet Another Acquisition. A modular approach to spectroscopy software and instrumentation
2016-2021 Natalia Spitha PhD Time-resolved photoluminescence of layered semiconductors
2015-2020 Darien Morrow PhD Development of multidimensional spectroscopies to investigate transition metal dichalcogenide semiconductors
2012-2018 Nathan Neff-Mallon    
2013-2018 Jonathan Handali PhD 3D Triply Resonant Sum Frequency Spectroscopy with applications towards biological molecules
2012-2017 Kyle Czech ABD  
2011-2018 Blaise Thompson PhD Development of Frequency Domain Multidimensional Spectroscopy with Applications in Semiconductor Photophysics
2011-2017 Eric Hagee    
2007-2017 Schuyler Kain PhD Transition of Frequency-Domain Coherent Multidimensional Spectroscopic Methods to the Femtosecond Time Regime with Applications to Nanoscale Semiconductors
2011-2016 Matt Rowley PhD Spectroscopic studies on the photophysics of semiconductor materials for solar energy collection
2010-2016 Paul Hebert PhD Femtosecond Multidimensional Electronic and Raman Spectroscopy towards the Study of Mn Complexes and the Oxygen Evolving Complex: Developing Understanding of Femtosecond Light Generation and Applying Femtosecond Multidimensional Electronic and Raman Spectroscopies to Model Systems
2010-2014 Erin Boyle PhD New Mixed Vibrational-Electronic Methods in Fully Coherent Multidimensional Spectroscopy: Progress Toward Metal Active Site Characterization
2003-2014 Andrei Pakoulev Staff  
2012 Stephen B. Block PhD Picosecond and Femtosecond Coherent Multidimensional Spectroscopy of Colloidal PbSe Quantum Dot Structure and Dynamics
2010 Ross Lovely MA EPR of OEC in PSII
2009-2011 Igor Stiopkin Postdoctoral Femtosecond Multidimensional Spectroscopy
2011 Lena A. Yurs PhD Multiresonant Coherent Multidimensional Spectroscopy of Quantum Confined Nanomaterials"
2009 Nathan A. Mathew PhD Mixed Frequency/Time Domain Coherent Multidimensional Spectroscopy
2009 Kate Kornau PhD Triply Vibrationally Enhanced Four-Wave Mixing Spectroscopy
2008 Mark Rickard PhD Fundamental Studies of Triply Vibrationally Enhanced Four Wave Mixing Spectroscopy
2003-2005 Danling Wang Postdoctoral Electronically Resonant Doubly Vibrationally Enhanced Four Wave Mixing
2004 Kent Meyer* PhD Frequency-Scanned Ultrafast Spectroscopic Techniques Applied to Infrared Four-Wave Mixing Spectroscopy
*Kent returned to the Wright Group as a Staff Scientist in 2020!
2003 John D. Bak PhD Fluorescence and Atomic Defect Properties of Rare Earth Doped Barium Titanate
2003 Daniel Besemann PhD Inhomogeneous Broadening, Dephasing, and Interference Effects in Multidimensional Vibrational Spectroscopy
2003 Angela Peters MA Electronically Resonant 2D DOVE Spectroscopy
2001-2002 Alastair Wark


Surface Selective Nonlinear Spectroscopy
2001 Nicholas J. Condon PhD Doubly Vibrationally Enhanced Four Wave Mixing Spectroscopy of Acetonitrile and Crotononitrile
2001 Amy Hofstra MA Biological Applications of 2D DOVE Spectroscopy
1997-2000 Keith Murdoch Postdoctoral Determination of the Structure of Water Using Multiresonant Four-Wave Mixing
1997-1999 Wei Zhao Postdoctoral New Nonlinear Optical Materials
1998 David Thompson PhD Measuring and Modeling the Contribution of the Complex Refractive Index to Infrared Four Wave Mixing Lineshapes in Mixtures of Fully Deuterated Benzene and 1,8 Nonadiyne
1998 Robert Lascola PhD Nonlinear Optical Properties of Neutral and Anionic Fullerenes
1997 Ding Xiaoya PhD Laser Spectroscopic Studies of Fullerenes, Fullerene Derivatives, and Erbium Endohedral Metallofullerenes
1996 Mitchell LaBuda PhD Direct Measurement of a Vibrational Hyperpolarizability
1995 Lawrence R. Olsen PhD The Defect Chemistry and Diffusion of Fluoride Interstitials in Eu3+ Doped CaF2 Studied with Site Selective Spectroscopy and High Pressure Techniques
1994 Laurel J. Knott PhD Electronic Defect Compensation in Perovskites
1994 James P. Hamilton PhD Vibrationally Enhanced Infrared Four Wave Mixing Spectroscopy
1994 Andrew O. Wright PhD Solid State Defect Dynamics Measured with Site Selective Spectroscopy Employing a Diamond Anvil Cell
1993 Joseph E. Ivanecky PhD Higher Order Effects in Nonlinear Raman Scattering
1992 Peter C. Chen PhD Infrared Four Wave Mixing: A New Spectroscopic Technique Used to Probe the Interaction Between Vibrational Levels in Chlorobenzene
1990 Bradford B. Price PhD Fluorescence Line Narrowing and Nonlinear Spectroscopy of Octaethylporphine
1994-1995 Lei Geng Postdoctoral Optical Properties of Endohedral Fullerenes
1991-1993 Arne Zilian Postdoctoral Infrared Four Wave Mixing
1990-1991 Andries Meijerink Postdoctoral Defect Dynamics in PbF2
1990 Gregory B. Hurst PhD Line Narrowed, Fully Resonant Nonlinear Spectroscopy of Perylene in PMMA
1989 Kathleen M. Cirillo-Penn PhD Site Selective Methods for Kinetic Measurements of Defect Reequilibration in Insulators
1987-1989 Nigel J. Cockroft Postdoctoral Solid State Chemistry of Perovskites
1988 Roger J. Carlson PhD Three-Photon Nonlinear Spectroscopy
1988 Brian M. Tissue PhD Energy Transfer Within Isolated Rare Earth Clusters
1987 Bruce K. Winker PhD High Resolution Nonlinear Spectroscopy of Gas Phase Atoms, Ions, and Molecules
1987 Michael T. Riebe PhD Line Narrowing in the Nonlinear Spectroscopy of Pentacene in Benzoic Acid
1986 Royal J. Haskell PhD Determination of 4– and 5–D Transition Metals Via Laser Excitation of Precipitates
1986 Albert J. Ramponi PhD Studies of the Aggregation of Divalent Cations Doped in Alkali Halides Using Site-Selective Laser Spectroscopy
1986 Kate Noon MA An Investigation of the Defect Site Distribution in MgO:Cr3+ Using Site Selective Spectroscopy
1985 John R. Wietfeldt PhD Laser Spectroscopy of Defect Chemistry in Rare Earth Doped SrCl2 and Mechanism of Energy Transfer Between Ions in SrF2:Er3+
1984 Jack K. Steehler PhD Multiresonant Nonlinear Laser Spectroscopy of Pentacene in p-Terphenyl
1984 Dinh C. Nguyen PhD Four Wave Mixing Spectroscopy of Organic Systems
1984 Mark A. Valentini PhD High Resolution Laser Spectroscopy of Lanthanide Ions in Biochemical Systems
1983 Sun-Il Mho PhD Laser Spectroscopy of Defect Chemistry in Conducting Materials
1981-1983 Dale Lutz Postdoctoral Site Distributions in Molecular Crystals
1981 Steven H. Lee PhD New Methods for Laser Analysis of Organic Compounds
1981 Laura C. Porter PhD Analytical Applications of Selectively Excited Lanthanide Ion Luminescence in Various Inorganic Powders
1980 Murray V. Johnston PhD Fluorescent Probes in the Solid State and Their Application in Rare Earth Doped Fluorite Structure Crystals
1980 David S. Moore PhD Laser Spectroscopic and EPR Studies of Defect Equilibria in Rare Earth Doped Fluorite Structure Crystals
1980 Mark B. Seelbinder PhD Laser Spectroscopy of Defect Clusters in Doped Calcium Fluoride
1977-1979 James Akse Postdoctoral Selective Excitation of Probe Ion Luminescence
1978 Frederick J. Gustafson PhD Determination of the Lanthanides at Trace Concentration Levels by Selective Excitation of Probe Ion Luminescence
1978 Marvin P Miller PhD Nonradiative Relaxation Processes in Trivalent Erbium Doped Alkaline Earth Fluorides
1976 David R. Tallant PhD Optical Study of Erbium-Doped Calcium Fluoride by Selective Laser Excitation